LES Australia & New Zealand: "Growing your IP: Plant breeding intellectual property"

LES Australia & New Zealand
"Growing your IP: Plant breeding intellectual property"
Tuesday, 19 January 2021
1:00pm - 2:15pm (AEDT) / 3:00pm - 4:15pm (NZDT) / 9:00pm - 10:15pm (EST)

Interested in learning about IP protections for plants? Join LES ANZ's webinar to learn about PVR, patents, confidential information, trademarks, with a deep dive on algae and hemp.

Alanna Rennie (Associate, Baker McKenzie) and Wendy Cashmore (founding Partner, Plant IP Partners Limited) will be presenting the following:

- Introduction to IP rights in plant breeding
- The pros and cons of Plant Variety Rights, Plant Patents and Confidential Information
- Commercialising plant IP case studies
- What's the hype? - plant IP in algae and medicinal cannabis
- Plant breeders' industry bodies and useful resources

LES Spain & Portugal: "Economic Valuation of Patents, Trademarks and other Intangible Assets"

LES Spain & Portugal
"Economic Valuation of Patents, Trademarks and other Intangible Assets"
Thursday, 21 January 2021
10:00am - 11:00am (EST) / 4:00pm - 5:00pm (CET)

LES Spain & Portugal's webinar, in collaboration with the Railway Innovation Hub Spain (RIH), will introduce the economic valuation of intangible assets (patents, trademarks, etc.), explaining the different existing valuation methods and the usefulness of economic valuation as a competitiveness tool.

This online workshop will be taught in Spanish by Jon Ander Gomez, IP Manager at H&A and Chair of the IP Valuation Committee of LES Spain & Portugal.

 

 

LESI and LES Italy: "5G & Patents"

LESI and LES Italy
"5G & Patents"
Wednesday, 27 January 2021
8:00am - 9:30am (EST) / 2:00pm - 3:30pm (CET)

5G & Patents. Why is 5G considered a disruptive technology? How can intellectual property covering 5G technologies increase investment and promote greater innovation?

As new technological paradigms arrive, new challanges arise. 5G is more complex than previous mobile generations with new requiremens for new and different use cases using wireless networks in "connected cars", Industry 4.0, agriculture, medicine, etc. Sales of 5G devices will grow to 668 billion globally in 2026 - and increase from 5.5 billion this year according to Allied Market Research. 5G also will be a new opportunity to use Intellectual Property as a key tool for promoting innovation.

The webinar will cover:

- Why 5G is so different from 4G?
- What is the impact in key fields, such as the automotive sector (impact in sales, V2X - communications...)?
- What are the different scenarios for 5G patents licensing?
- What impact has COVID-19 had on 5G deployment?

Moderator: Luis Ignacio Vicente del Olmo (ASTI Mobile Robotics & Pons IP)

Panelists:
- Sonja London (NOKIA)
- Matteo Sabattini (Ericsson)
- John Carney (LES USA & Automotive Sector)

 

Free to LES members & non-members.

 

LESI les Nouvelles LIVE: Spotlight on December 2020 Issue

LESI
les Nouvelles LIVE: Spotlight on December 2020 Issue
Thursday, 28 January 2021
9:30am - 10:30am (EST) / 3:30pm - 4:30pm (CET)

LESI will be hosting a discussion with authors on three articles in the December 2020 edition of Les Nouvelles. The session will be moderated by Dana Robert Colarulli, LESI Executive Director and David Drews, Editor, les Nouvelles.

- Apportioning Value in Patent Portfolio License and Sale Agreements - Robert Vigil and Xiao Zhang
- Pitfalls and the opportunities of Commercializing and Managing Co-created Intellectual Property - Madeleine Kleyn
- Accelerating Economic Inversion in the Post COVID-19 Economy - Jim Malackowski and Yuliana Sameroynina

LES Britain & Ireland: "Fun and Games - inside a video games developer"

LES Britain & Ireland
"Fun and Games - inside a video games developer"
Thursday, 28 January 2021
11:30am - 12:30pm (EST) / 5:30pm - 6:30pm (CET)

Join LES Britain & Ireland and their speaker, Steven Webb from Sumo Group, for a webinar on "Fun and Games - inside a video games developer" on 28 January 2021.

Steven is the General Counsel and Company Secretary of Sumo Group plc, one of the UK's largest providers of end-to-end creative development and co-development services to the video games industry. Video games sales are reported to be greater than the film and musci industries combined, reached $159 billion in 2020 (up over 9% from 2019) and are forecast to be over $200 billion by 2023. Some of the largest companies in the world top the video game sales charts - Tencent, Sony, Apple, Microsoft, Google and Amazon - and Sumo counts them all as clients.

Sumo's evolving business model, in a dynamic industry based on creative works gives rise to a number of different intellectual property considerations that Steven will describe in this session.

Free to LES members.

LESI WILA Committee: "Evaluating the Effect of the USPTO's Gatekeeping Criteria on the Diversity of the Patent Bar"

LESI WILA Committee
"Evaluating the Effect of the USPTO's Gatekeeping Criteria on the Diversity of the Patent Bar"
Wednesday, 10 February 2021
9:00am - 10:00am (EST) / 3:00pm - 4:00pm (CET)

LESI's Women In Licensing Alliance (WILA) will be joined by Mary T. Hannon (Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP) to discuss "Evaluating the Effect of the USPTO's Gatekeeping Criteria on the Diversity of the Patent Bar" and her recent study on the US Patent Bar Gender Gap featured in the Indiana University Maurer School of Law's IP Theory.

Mary will share interesting statistical data about the underrepresentation of women in the US Patent Bar and exploring the reasons behind as well as the way forward.

All interested LES members are welcome!

2021 LESI (Virtual) Annual Meeting

2021 LESI (Virtual) Annual Meeting
27 + 28 May 2021
Let's Innovate: Maximizing the Value of Innovation in an Era of Convergence